Question about donating blood

I donated a pint yesterday, giving me my second gallon (yay me!) and I had a random thought, maybe because I didn’t get a very good poke (blood was spurting out around the needle, and my elbow is sore.)

You poke a hole in your skin, you get a scab. I’m assuming something similar happens to your vein. Since I only have two convenient places where I donate blood (inside both of my elbows) what happens over time to the veins there? Will they get scarred up and it will get harder to jam the needle in?

I relayed your question to my mother, who draws blood from people 3 times a week for lab experiments, and she said that the veins will get scarred and harder to stick with a needle but it’s not usually a big deal (Both to the sticker and the stickee.)

I don’t know for sure, but I’ve been giving blood on and off for about 30 years, always from the inside of one or the other elbow, and this doesn’t seem to be a problem. I’m donating again this Friday, so I’ll ask. I do know that it’s not the EXACT same place every time – the tissue and the veins move around, stretch and retract.

The internal “scab” is going to be a mesh of platelets, red blood cells and fibrin. Over time, the fibrin is broken down and the platelets and red cells released. While there, theplatelets release growth factors that promote healing of the rupture in the vessel. Since cell regeneration is not perfect, fibrotic tissue develops at the rupture site, causing scar tissue. I donated plasma many years ago, and have a fair amount of scar tissue at that site. I have also drawn blood through scar tissue in the vessel, and sometimes it is difficult and painful, and sometimes not. I depends on how well your body heals. I can give graphic detail of what it’s like to insert a needle through scar tissue, but only on request.

Vlad/Igor