Question about electricity

I’m not an electrician or a physicist so don’t slam me if this is a ridiculously dumb question but I was changing a lightbulb the other day and it occurred to me that the lighbulb would probably last a lot longer if we used direct current rather than alternating current because alternating current puts extra stress on the filament because it causes the filament to vibrate because it alternates back & forth. ( I think ) and by using direct current the filament would not be put under as much duress and would last longer. So why aren’t we using direct current?

Also if I were to rewire my entire house so that all my electrical appliances ran on direct current how would it affect my TV or my kettle & other non-lightbulb appliances like that?

There are undoubtedly many reasons why we use DC, but the one I recall first is safety. When someone touches a live circuit, there is a tendency for said person to “stick” to the wire (or vice-versa.) This effect remains as long as there is a nonzero voltage in the wire. With DC, there is a constant voltage. With AC, the voltage follows a sine wave pattern between two equal and opposite values, e.g, +120V and -120V. It oscillates between the two values at 60 cycles per second, so 120 times per second the voltage is exactly zero. This would make it easier for someone to break contact with a live wire.

You can buy a light bulb rectifier here, or build your own (note- you shouldn’t build your own unless you’re qualified - i.e. an electrician).

These are half-wave rectifiers, where the voltage isn’t converted to DC- the negative half of the voltage sinewave is removed, leaving a sort of pulsed DC. This increases bulb life mainly by reducing the overall RMS voltage on the bulb, which reduces the filament heat as well as brightness.