Question about snakes

My neighbor just told me that her yard man yesterday killed the second of two snakes in her back yard, she believes that the smakes are coming form my yard because I have long grass, (I haven’t cut my grass in about 2-3 weeks) I didn’t argue with her because I do need to get my grass cut but isn’t it more likely the snakes are coming from the pile of rocks and building rubble than my long grass? I have a dog who runs around the backyard with no qualms, she has three small children. She also told me that they are having someone get rid of the rock pile, the last time they started moving that I ended up with a rat in my house and I had a terrible time getting rid of them. I am getting rat poison now to put under the house is there anything to keep snakes out as well. I figure if the rodents head for under my house the snakes will follow. Any suggestions?

I’m no expert - but I know you’ll need to give us a location to make any sense of the situation. Around here, a snake in the garden can be enough to get into the local paper.

How big are these yards?
What kind of snakes were they? (If garter, racer, hognose, etc. it is a shame that some twit killed them.)

I know of nothing that will cause snakes to avoid an area other than a lack of food. If she has a haven for rodents, she is the source. On the other hand, very small garter snakes also prey on crickets, grasshoppers, and similar medium to large critters that live in tall grass, so you could be providing a haven for smaller snakes. (Of course, the snakes have to have come from somewhere. They do not spontaneously generate when the grass hits a height of 4". So while you may be providing a haven, you would not be the source unless you have some brush, deteriorating logs, or a rockpile where they may be breeding.)

Depends on the kind of snake, and the kind of area. Yes, most snakes like to have cover, but whether they prefer rocks or grass will depend on the species.