Question about superchargers.

Why is it superchargers are frowned upon because they use power directly from the engine to compress the air/fuel mixture. I’ve read in different car magazines that people have used turbochargers instead of superchargers when customizing a car because of this. Is it merely because a turbocharger gives more power, I thought the s’charger would be better because you don’t have to have the engine reving so high for it to start working. But then again as I have demonstrated before I know very little about car mechanics.

Well, I am not an expert but just a semi-knowledgeble back yard grease monkey. Here are my thoughts.

1. They require more drastic changes to the engine than a turbo charger, hence more money. At the least, they require:

Different intake manifold
Different crank pulley
A lot of room under the hood
A whole lot of plumbing
A whole lot of $$$

1. Since power is taken directly from the engine to drive it, you are getting a smaller “boost” than you would like. (This is a guess, since I think this is really quite minimal…probably something like an air conditioner compressor)

A Turbo on the otherhand requires (at a minimum):

A different exhaust manifold
Some plumbing (air ducting and at least oil lines)

Thats about it. They are generally a little cheaper too. That probably has a lot to do with it.

I will say this though, a lot of serious racers (especially drag) will ONLY use superchargers. They give an instantanious boost, whereas Turbos (depending on the size, of course) usually come on line around 3000RPM.

I have not really heard Superchargers getting a “bad rap” before this post, and many hard core racers swear by them. So, these are only possible answers to your question. I Hope it makes a bit of sense!

Hmm, I am not sure ‘frowned upon’ is the correct phrase.
Turbochargers and superchargers are simply two different ways of getting more power out of an engine.