Question about the offside rule in soccer

I understand the basic offside rule, and my understanding is pretty much what is described in this video.

Recently I was watching a soccer game with some friends where something occurred, that to me, looked blatantly “offside”. Basically, an attacking player passed the ball forward to his team mate, even though the opposing team’s goalkeeper was the only defender between the receiver, and the goal line, when the ball was passed.

However, one of the guys watching the game with us explained that it wasn’t offside, due to what had just happened prior, which I will try my best to explain clearly:

  1. An attacking player took possession of the ball (legally).
  2. Both this attacking player, and another attacking player, start running towards the goal line.
  3. Both attacking players run past the “last defender”.
  4. The attacking player now passes the ball forward to his team mate, even though the only defender now between the receiver and the goal line is the goal keeper.
  5. GOOOOOAAAAALLLLL!!!

Our friend argued that because step 3 occurred, the resulting forward pass (in step 4) is now not considered to be in violation of the offside rule.

Can anyone verify this?

Although the ball went forward, was the receiving player further back at the moment the pass was made? If so, it’s all good.

When step 4 occurred, the attacker passing the ball forward was the 3rd closest player to the goal line. His team mate, the guy who received the pass, was the 2nd closest player to the goal line. That leaves the opposition team’s goalkeeper as the closest player to the goal line.

This was the situation as the ball left the foot of the attacker who passed the ball in step 4.

My friend says… it’s not offside.

It’s offside.

Concur with **Jimmy Chitwood **
The goalscorer is in an offside position.
They can remain there provided they have no influence or gain advantage in play.
Touching the ball certainly negates that. As Bill Shankly said: “If a player is not interfering with play or seeking to gain an advantage, then he should be!”.

So even if the passer took the shot themselves and scored, then the other attacker could still be called for offside.