Question for experienced mortgage-owning adults

I’m still new at this whole “grown-up” thing, so pardon the stupidity that might ensue.

(Oblig. xkcd link)

I got a letter from my mortgage bank stating the following:

“Important Hazard/Homeowner’s Insurance Information. Your hazard/homeowner’s policy must reflect the following as loss payee to ensure timely payments of future billings.” with the address of the bank listed below. Even though later in the letter, it admits that **I’m **the one paying the insurance premiums (not the escrow), it still wants to be there as the loss payee.

So first question - What on earth does that actually mean? Does it mean what I think it means, that if something happened to the house, the BANK would get the payout from the insurance company? How is that ok? Apparently I have to, according to their nasty little letter.

Second question - Since I apparently *have *to, how am I supposed to do this? Do I just call the insurance company and ask them who the “loss payee” is? Will they let me change it if I need to over the phone? This isn’t a new mortgage holder or a new insurance company, so why are they hassling me about this now? I don’t remember them asking about this before.

Pertinent infos: Townhouse, in SC.

Thanks for any information!

Most mortgages require the holder to maintain hazard and loss insurance that will cover at least the mortgage amount. Sometimes complete coverage is required, because the loss of a home and possessions tends to turn a borrower into a credit liability even if the nominal loan amount is covered.

In many cases, the insurance (and property taxes) has to be paid from an escrow account maintained by the lender - you pay an extra couple of hundred every month, and they pay your insurance and taxes for you, to assure it’s all kept current.

In any case, they have the right to demand that the insurance holds them as the payee for all mortgage amounts ahead of any other distribution.