Question for experienced musicians...

I’ve started to practice playing bass guitar again after a hiatus of about twelve years and here’s something I’ve always wondered: do experienced musicians ever get to the point where they can think of a melody or the tone of a note and immediately play or find it on an instrument without trial and error? And if so, does this come with tons of practice or is it something you have to be born with? I’ll have a bass line going through my head it’s really tough for me to get it out and play it on my bass. I’m curious if this is something I’ll eventually get better at or is a lost cause.

I’m not that experienced/good, but I am comfortable around a keyboard, and I can take melody or hooks from my head to the keys pretty easily. Occasionally my brain will serve up some offbeat minor key that takes a bit of trial and error to sort out (like I said, not actually really experienced) but usually I just sit there and it goes from brain to fingers pretty well. I find getting harmonies down to be much harder -I start playing what it ‘should be’ instead of what I remembered or thought of.

What kills me is a friend of mine who can just take a musical phrase and casually write it out in musical notation, just like I would jot down an english sentence - he’s a musician on six instruments I’m aware of (piano/keyboard, drums, bass, guitar, flute, sax) a song-writer, and has perfect pitch. I try not to do musical things around him for fear I’ll make him wince too much.

Totally didn’t actually answer - I feel like it’s something that you’re either naturally attuned to or not, but that like anything, if you practice, you should be able to do it competently, even if it’s never totally fluid for you.

Good luck!