Question for software developers

So I work for a software design firm where we build small-to-medium sized web applications (using PHP) for various clients and stakeholders. I’ve worked for this firm for well over a year, and I enjoy what I do (mostly). Prior to joining this firm, I was a solo developer, so having to develop software as part of a team is something new to me.

Here’s my question:

What is it about our industry that makes it so dominated by otherwise very intelligent people, who feel compelled to take fairly ordinary, simple tasks, and turn them in to complex, convoluted, time consuming nightmares?

Why is it that when it becomes a complex, convoluted, time consuming nightmare, they will still keep singing its praises?

Here’s an example. I’m currently Lead Dev on an smallish web application for a client in the health industry. The app needs to allow users to set certain goals, rate themselves against those goals, allow mentors to log in and leave comments and feedback, etc. It’s basically a form with maybe 100 fields, sitting behind a log in screen.

My support dev, (new to the company), couldn’t believe that I didn’t use an Object Relational Mapper (ORM) to handle my database querying and data modelling. When I asked what the benefits were of using an ORM as opposed to not using one, he described benefits that were at least ostensibly clear (less data replication, easier data portability, etc).

I weighed the pros and cons and decided I was willing to let him try and “wow” me with this new method of handling data, so I left it up to him to write the main data file that these ORMs eventually use to generate databases, classes, etc.