Question for tech writers and those who work with them.

What’s the name of the division that houses your company’s technical writers? And/or, what do you think would be a good name for a writing division?

Here’s why I’m asking: I’m a tech writer at a software company, and currently my division includes our graphic artists and is called Technical Communications. However, soon we will be reorganizing, and the artists and writers will belong to separate groups. The artists’ group will be Graphic Arts, and right now they’re calling the writers’ group Publications (Pubs, for short). We can suggest a different name if we prefer, so the other writer and I decided to do some research and find out what other companies call their writers (you know what I mean! ;)).

Neither of us has a very strong objection to Pubs, but I’m trying to think of something more encompassing – maybe along the lines of Writing Services. But that sounds kind of “meh” to me, too. So I turn to the Dope for suggestions. :slight_smile:

At my software company, we call ourselves “User Education”. Strikes me as friendly, that.

Ours is called “Information Development.” A little pretentious, maybe, but I’ve heard worse. Individually, we’re “information developers.”

The company at which I recently applied for a tech writing job calls theirs Documentation Development.

In my years as a technical writer, I’ve been called the following:

– technical writer
– documentation developer
– information developer
– technical communicator

My job was a part of the following groups or departments:

– technical communications
– technical publications (or just “publications”)
– information development
– documentation
– technical education (we were grouped with the trainers on this job)

Given my druthers, I’d be a technical communicator working in the publications department. That describes it pretty well, I think.