Question for the Libertarians about public lands

Please feel free to correct me, but I have heard it said that Libertarians primarily believe in individual rights, and that the right to hold property is the very most basic and should be the most unassailable. I have also heard it said that the government should never own land (except possibly that which is strictly necessary to house whatever offices and facilities are absolutely essential…whatever that may actually mean on the ground.) With that assumption (again, let me know if I’m mistaken,) I have a question about the ownership of public lands. This question could also be applied, I suppose, to state, county, and municipal lands, but I’ll confine my OP to Federal lands. I would, however, like to exclude the discussion of lands held by the military, as I believe it could potentially be a whole other can of worms.

Full disclosure: I am a scientist employed by the National Park Service, so I can certainly not be considered unbiased. However, I don’t believe this would make my opinions invalid.

Philosophically, and practically speaking, Libertarians:

[ul]
[li]what do you think of publicly held lands such as national parks, preserves, historic sites, national forests, etc.?[/li][li]Do you think the government has the right to own these lands?[/li][li]Does it have the moral right to declare eminent domain on some of these lands to ensure that they are preserved for posterity, common cultural good, or the study of unique natural phenomena?[/li][li]What about to preserve critically endangered flora or fauna?[/li][/ul]