Question re: E-Cigarette Vapor

Hello everyone. Newbie here. My question is, does the exhaled vapor from an electronic cigarette leave a “nicotine residue” on walls, painted surfaces, furniture, etc. like real cigarettes do? Thank you in advance for your assistance.

If it does, it would take a bloodhound to detect it. I’ve “vaped” for about 5 months now and done it around the most anti-smoking Nazi nostrils in the world (Mom) and she has no problem with it in her house. I know that anecdote doesn’t equal evidence, but I’ve yet to hear a person offended by my vaping.

Based on everything I know about nicotine vaporizers, I can’t see how the exhaled vapor is any worse than your normal exhaled breath. Except having perhaps a little more H2O content in it.

Your walls will be fine.

The residue you see on walls is primarily composed of polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, or as they are known colloqually, “tar”. This substance is a concentrated form of the natural pitch in the leaves of Nicotiana and is a resinous constituant of the vapor which is responsible for the majority of deleritous effects of smoking tobacco. It is the lagest single bioreactive naturally appearing component of tobacco, although many curative processes and additives increase other constituants such as sugars.

I cannot find any reference that describes the natural color or condition of nicotine, but the salts of nicotine (formed to use the substance as a pesticide or pharmuceutucal) are white, and comprise about 0.5% of total dry mass in uncured tobacco, and up to 3% in processed tobacco. So it isn’t a major constituant in terms of mass and resulting residue. Also, because of its absorbtivity into lung and mucous tissue, and the fact that an e-cigarette doesn’t constantly elease emissions the way a smouldering cigarette does, the amount of released (“secondhand”) nicotine is likely at low levels compared to normal smoking.