Question regarding firefighting/fire code

First some background… I spent 7 years in the Navy, and was trained in a lot of firefighting theory and tactics. You’ve heard the adage ‘Every Marine is a rifleman’. Well, if so, then every sailor is a firefighter, and shipboard fires were everyones worst nightmare for the most part, so i tend to take fire safety very seriously.

I work in a factory that produces ink, that use a variety of solvents as a base, most of which is alcohols of one type or another, with a few petrochemical derivatives thrown in for good measure. Not a problem… the place is pretty safety conscious overall. Except this weekend, one of the guys accidentally broke off a sprinkler head. No big deal, just a lot of water spraying out, we shut down operations, shut the sprinkler water off, replaced the head, and went back to business.

Something bothered me though, and it struck me later that day… It was indeed only water coming out of the sprinklers. I find this worrying, because one of really important lessons that was beat into my head was that you never just use plain water on flammable liquid fires… The flammable liquids float on/get splashed around by the water, and rather than help, it can actually make things worse by spreading the fire around, and I was understandably(imo) upset that the sprinkler systems didn’t have a foaming agent in them.

But then I thought… Most of what we use aren’t petrochemicals that will float on water… Its mostly alcohol which mixes with water.

I suppose my question is… Is this something I should be worried about? Or am I just ignorant on the proper way to fight alcohol fires, a subject I admit I was never trained on.

The factory should have a Health and Safety Officer (or whatever his exact title is): bring it up with him. I believe there should be both kinds of systems, having both kinds of flammables.

Nava, Chemical Engineer