Questions about piano chords

My limited piano skills are entirely self-taught, and I think my instructor (:)) may have missed a key point.

I just bought a book on piano chords. In the introduction, the author states that the chords are played with the right hand.

Is this correct?

If so, how does one play the melody if the right hand is playing nothing but chords?

(My current style is to play the chords - or some fancied-up variation of the chord - with my left hand while my right hand plays the melody)

Thanks,

mmm

A chord is a set of notes that sound simultaneously. It doesn’t matter which hand plays them.

My music knowledge is quite limited as well, but I think your flaw is in the logic/semantics here. There’s a difference between “playing chords” as the book states and “playing nothing but chords” as you stated.

Also, is there a reason the melody can’t contain chords?

I have no idea what the author is trying to accomplish with this statement, and if it’s not a typo, I suspect neither does he.

While not the only way to do things, I’d say this is certainly the most common way.

On the bass keys, or with a cross-arm style. :stuck_out_tongue:

Yep. Depending on what style you’re playing, they might be all in the left hand, split between the left and the right, or all in the right hand. All the tones may be played together, or they may be broken up, or some chord tones left out all together. The most very basic chording (as in beginner’s piano books), usually has you playing three notes together in your left hand, and the melody in the right hand (which is what you’re doing.) Lot of jazz styles a similar approach, comping with chords in the left hand, while soloing in the right hand.