Quick 'n' easy US Constitution question

Specifically about Article VII of the Bill of Rights

1. Is the value of twenty dollars the one that was fixed originally or has it been uprated since then?

2. If not, has the $20 threshold basically become obsolete since it is now such a trivial sum of money (at least in terms of a legal action).

3. If that is the case, is this not an example of a case where the Constitution should have been periodically revised and updated to keep it in line with the original intentions?

4. What could you have bought for $20 in 1789?

Hey, $20 couldn’t even buy you a phone call in 1789.

ISTR reading somewhere that that portion of the Constitution has basically been whittled away by case law and whatnot throughout the years. When I studied for the dreaded Constitution Test my senior year of high school, my little study guide had the obsolete parts of the Constitution written in blue ink. That section was in blue.

I’m sure you’ll want a better cite than “It was written in blue ink in my Constitution Test study guide,” but that’s all I’ve got.

As for question #4: I’m sure $20 could get you a slave in those days. I wonder if that isn’t the reason the threshold was set at $20 in the first place…

In answer to the questions posed by the OP:

1. The Seventh Amendment has not itself been amended; the $20 value still applies.

2. I would suspect that the $20 value was relatively irrelevant even in the late 1700’s; there is no indication why the Senate insisted on including this provision in the language of the amendment, and there is no record of debate on the amendment in either the House or the Senate, other than that the Senate concurred with the resolution of the House only upon inclusion of this dollar amount. One can speculate that the Senate was worried that, without some limit, the federal courts could end up with jury trials over ANY insignificant case.