Quit smoking while losing weight?

I’ve been adopting a healthier lifestyle for a couple of months now, so far so good, I’ve lost more than 20 pounds of fat, eating healthy and going to gym 5 times a week. I’ve been smoking for about 10 years, 1 pack a day for the last 7 years.

I want to quit, but I’m not sure if it’s a good idea right now, since a lot of people gain weight when they quit. Also I consider my bad eating habits as a form of addiction, and fighting 2 addictions at the same time seems like a bad idea to me (increasing the risk of failing at both).

On the other hand the improvement in stamina from quitting could mean harder workouts aiding in the weight-loss, so basically I don’t know what’s best at this points. Any thoughts?

It depends. I quit smoking about 4 years ago (pack a day for 30 years) and have gained about 15 pounds. I replaced mindless smoking with mindless eating. I still went to the gym when I smoked but I felt like such a hypocrite. But your healthier lifestyle may make quitting easier now that you are on the "healthy’ bandwagon. It took me several years to quit and I finally quit with the aid of Chantix.

What I’m saying is try quitting. If you don’t succeed, you can always quit again. I view my eating behavior as a form of addiction also.

Quitting smoking will definitely make you hungrier, thus making it harder (but not impossible) to diet. Have you considered those water vapor cigarettes?

http://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/forum/new-members-forum/174470-lung-capacity-easier-breathing.html

It’s normal to gain 5-10 lbs. If you are going to the gym 5 times a week and eating health snacks, that will certainly help. In the grand scheme of things, what’s healthier? Continuing to smoke a pack a day, or possibly gaining a few extra pounds which you can eventually work off further down the road? I think it’s pretty clear.

If you don’t quit now, when will you? When you’ve “beaten” your food addiction? When will that point be?