Racing Fuel in a Family Car

I was at a gas station on an end of town that I’m not usually in the other day, and wouldn’t you know it: they had racing fuel! (At $3.59/gallon :eek: )

What would happen if I put that in my POS 1996 Mitsubishi Mirage? Nothing?

At best, it wouldn’t run very well. AFAIK, your car is set to run with fuel of a specific octane that ignites and combusts at a set rate. Racing fuel doens’t meet that specification.

OK, so I am no engineer.

I don’t know what might be in your station’s racing fuel, but it is possible it is so volitaile that it could actually do serious damage to your engine’s internal parts.

Also, I understand that persons who aren’t known operators of racing cars who attempt to buy racing fuels (especially in quantity) arouse the suspicions of the ATF or whoever it is that looks after bomb-type investigations. Mixing this type fuel with othet things can produce a bomb that is considerably more powerful than the similar home-made bomb used by McVeigh in Oklahoma City.

It depends on whether it was racing fuel or high octane gas (like 110). I’m not too informed about the racing fuel though. The high octane gas would go through your system like normal gas until it got to the cylinders. The gas would burn too slow and not complete, causing your engine to spit out raw fuel through your exhaust system. This would be a bad thing over time but once or twice won’t do alot of damage.

Would people please not answer the question if they don’t know the answer? I don’t think I’ve seen so much disinformation in such a small amount of responses.

Especially when it was so easy to just look in the Gasoline FAQ?

This applies so long as the fuel was actually gasoline, and not some exotic methanol-nitromethane blend.

I demand a cite on the ATF investigating people who aren’t “known operators of racing cars”.

Just another reason to love you coal babe.

Save your money people, listen to Anthracite.