Rate the Current USSC Justices (non-ideological)

How do the current SC justices rank in terms of intelligence, legal reasoning, consistency etc.?

I’m hoping we can leave ideology out of this, but I suspect it may not be possible. In that case it might be more instructive for how people rank the various liberals against each other, and the various conservatives against each other.

I’m no expert on these matters, but I get the sense for example that Sotomayor is a relatively weak link. But I could be wrong of course. In any event, I’m hoping for some input from more knowledgeable people.

My view:

Roberts
Kagan
Ginsburg
Sotomayor
Thomas
Breyer
Alito
Kennedy

The middle four I’m persuadable on, but I feel fairly strongly about the placements of Roberts, Kagan, Alito, and Kennedy.

I didn’t rank Gorsuch, since we don’t yet know how he’ll behave on the Supreme Court. I wasn’t impressed by his first opinion. I suspect he’ll fall somewhere in Breyer/Alito-land.

1 - Thomas
2 - Roberts
3 - Ginsburg
4 - Kagan
5 - Alito
6 - Breyer
7 - Kennedy
8 - Sotomayor

n/a - Gorsuch

I left out Gorsuch since he’s too new.
I find Sotomayor’s and Kennedy’s writing abysmal. Unclear, unpersuasive, and uninteresting. Breyer is only slightly better, but I find he to take positions he favors rather than what the law may demand. Alito comes to my favored results more, but his writing is dull. Both Kagan and Ginsburg I find have much more sharply honed styles and are more persuasive. Roberts is even stronger in this area, but is often too cautious. Thomas displays a fidelity to the law that I appreciate and his writing is solid.

All just my opinion.