Really, Dr. Oz?

I usually Tivo the Dr. Oz show, and have it on in the background while I’m doing something else. Usually his advice is accurate, but once in a while he comes out with something that makes me ask “Oh really?” I know the show is as much about entertainment as medicine, but that doesn’t excuse needlessly alarming people.

The other day he had a woman on who had some health issues, in addition to being overweight. At one point he tested her blood glucose. It was 100. He then told her that she was “borderline diabetic.”

No, Dr. Oz, 100 doesn’t mean borderline diabetic. 100 means normal.

I’m far from an expert on this – hell, I’m not even a layman – but it seems it depends which test is used.

http://www.labtestsonline.org/understanding/analytes/glucose/test.html

I was told by my doctor that 100 – if you’ve been fasting – is borderline. Non-fasting, I guess, it’s probably not a problem.

This isn’t the case here, but Oz seems to have the same problem that Durk Pearson had back in the eighties, namely that he presents fact with theory and doesn’t tell you which is which. I’ve even seen him (Oz) sprinkle in a little bit of outright BS once in a while. Most of the time his advice is sound, but he should be a little more judicious in what he says.

The cutoff for diabetes is a fasting plasma glucose of 126. 100 to 125 is considered “impaired glucose tolerance” or “prediabetes”. (“Borderline diabetes” is sort of out as a term.)

So he’s right–she has a far better than average chance of progressing to diabetes, and she should do what she can to prevent this.

I sometimes catch Dr. Oz’s show at the gym while on the treadmill. The other day he claimed (if I have this right from the subtitles) that if you can’t reach your toes while sitting on the floor with your legs stretched straight out in front of you, it means your arteries are clogged. WTF??