Reasonably Objective Rankings of Musicians - What's Out There?

What web sites would you recommend?

I was talking with some friends, and we were discussing/debating who are the greatest popular (i.e., non-classical) musicians working today. Granted, one would have to start this type of discussion by first establishing criteria (e.g., technical abilities, songwriting skills, popularity, etc.) and so forth, but I have to assume that some websites have already done this. Any recommendations?

FWIW - I asserted that, weirdness and whatever else may be wrong with him aside, that Prince was the greatest popular musician alive (my friend thought it was Thom Yorke of Radiohead). Again, this post is NOT about debating that point, I am merely providing that for background.

I am not a musician, so I’m not qualified to analyze the technical skills of prominent musicians. heck, I’ve been fooled many times, when listening to music, into thinking a particular piece was very difficult to play… only to hear my brother (a good but not great guitarist) play it on his guitar with ease. Conversely, he’s shown me how tricky some SEEMINGLY simple, straightforward pieces can be.

But before I let the REAL musicians offer their takes, I must point something out, something that SHOULD be obvious, but often isn’t:

There’s a LOT more to being a great musician than technique. And there’s a LOT more to being a great musician than speed and dexterity.

To put it crudely…

Would most people agree that Andres Segovia was a better guitarist than George Harrison? Sure, even George would have admited it.

Would most people agree that Buddy Rich was a better drummer than Ringo Starr? Sure, even Ringo would readily admit that.

Now, the big question: would “Ticket to Ride” have sounded ANY better with Andres Segovia on guitar and Buddy Rich on drums?