Rebuilding my computer; starting from scratch (software)

I’m rebuilding and updating my computer. I will be dual booting Vista Home Premium and XP. My computer splits it’s time between work and gaming. I’m not a novice at this, but I don’t do it often enough where I know all the ins and outs.

I’m thinking pre-build and post-build, and what are some things I can do to help this move quickly and efficiently (as opposed to my usual three rebuilds to finally get it right). On to the questions:

Pre-build:
I will grab up-to-date chipset and graphics drivers, AV, and anti-spyware software before the build.

I will, of course, back up all my files - probably in two places.

Any other suggestions of files I should have handy throughout my initial reinstalls of windows?

Post-build:
What order should I load XP and Vista? Each will sit on a dedicated hard drive. Each hard drive will have ~25 gig partition for the OS, and the remaining 225 gb for programs and data files.

Software choices (free is always better):

• Antivirus: AVG free (both)
  • Antispyware: AVG free and Windows Defender (both)
  • Firewall: ?? How is the Vista firewall?
  • Music Player: iTunes (is there another option for iPods?); Windows Media player; Real alternative
  • Disk burning: Nero suite
  • Office apps: Office XP (XP) / Star Office (Vista)
  • Ghosting and backup: ??
  • Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance for suggestions and advice!

You want ZoneAlarm for your firewall, and both Sybor Search and Destroy and AdAware for anti-spyware. AVG is fine for antivirus.