Recommend a Champagne

Some of my friends are graduating in a couple of months, and I’d like to send them a gift of champagne. Cost is not an issue, and I’ve looked into Cristal (it’s actually the only champagne I know, from reading American Psycho, but as a complete newbie I’m having a lot of trouble choosing from all the different vintages available. I’d appreciate any sort of input at all on choosing a Cristal, or any champagne you’ve enjoyed in the past.

Also, how many bottles should feed four people?

How many bottles? Totally depends on the people. Mr. Athena and I have been known to go through five or six bottles in the same amount of hours, but that’s only on special occasions. :smiley:

Figure ~6 glasses per bottle. A light drinker might only have one glass; a drunk like me can drink a whole bottle herself.

Is cost really no issue? C’mon, it’s gotta be. Cristal is gonna run you a couple hundred bucks a bottle for the cheap end.

The good thing about Champagne is that it’s hard to go wrong once you get above $30/bottle or so. Sure, some are better than others, and some people might like some bottles more than others. But in general, you’re not going to get a completely sucky bottle in that price range.

Some rules of thumb:

• If you don’t know what they like, go with a Brut. It’s the dryest type of champagne, and most people will enjoy it.

• in general, a vintage champagne is of higher quality than a non-vintage champagne, but that doesn’t mean that non-vintage champagnes are no good. Unlike wine producers, champagne producers don’t make a vintage bottle every year; only exceptional years are marked with a vintage. Non-vintage probably means that the grapes used to make it are a mix of grapes from 2-3 different years, and can be quite good.

• ‘Champagne’ refers to sparkling wines produced in the Champagne region of France; there’s very good American Sparkling Wines as well.

OK, now, give me a price range and I’ll give you some specific recommendations.