Recommend me some business accounting software

I’m a self-employed musician, and I also make patio furniture during the spring and summer. I’ve gone all my career just sorta keeping half-assed records, piles of receipts, scribbled ledgers and such. Come tax time, it’s a painful scramble to collate it all into what my tax preparer needs. Because it’s so messy, I usually procrastinate badly. I get my information in at the last minute. I’m not talking about April 15, I’m talking about October 15.

I’d like to get organized. Can you recommend any business accounting software that is easy and intuitive? Is QuickBooks any good? What else is there? I’d like to be able to make a good printout for my tax person or just access the numbers I need to fill out their worksheets.

My preference is to not have to buy something on a subscription basis. I HATE that marketing model and resist it every chance I get. I much prefer to buy something outright.

Thanks in advance, y’all.

I use QuickBooks. It is intuitive to me. It’s definitely full featured. There’s a subscription and non-subscription version.

Quickbooks is pretty standard for small business accounting. However, ask your accountant what they’d like you to use. If you use software that they recommend it’ll make life easier for both of you. If you have a question, be it about the software or taxes, they can walk you through what to do. Also, come tax time, all you have to do is email them a backup of the file. They’ll bring it up on their computer, pull the reports they need, make journal entries as necessary etc.
It’ll save everyone a lot of time.

Yup, I asked them, but they didn’t seem to have much of an opinion. They said QuickBooks is fine, so that’s probably the way I’ll go.