Recpies for beginners?

Hi all,

I have just recently moved out to stay by myself, and have gotten sick of instant noodles/cup ramen.

The only cooking skills I know are…eh boiling eggs.

So, any recipes for a total beginner to cooking? Not really looking for any nice…just filling up my stomach will do!

It might help to know what you like and what you have to work with. No use suggesting casseroles if you can’t stand them or grilled salmon if you don’t have a grill (we could teach you to broil instead, but only if you have an oven.)

So, what do you like, what sort of equipment do you have and how much time and effort are you willing to put into food? Budget constraints would be helpful as well - are you eating ramen because that’s what you can afford, or because you know how to cook it?

Well, since you know how to boil eggs, why not try to fry them?

Fry two eggs. While they are sizzling in the pan cut two slices of bread. Spray some ketchup on the bread and chuck the fried eggs on top. Matches perfectly with a fresh beer. Enjoy :slight_smile:

Buy yourself a decent beginners cook book. When my brother first left home to go to university, my mum sent him off with a book called “How to boil an egg” which was for people who didn’t have a clue how to cook and took them through all the basics. The recipes were easy to follow and since it was mainly aimed towards students, I think most of the dishes were cheap, quick and easy to make.

A quick look around your local bookstore’s cookery section should yield a few goodies!

Now Kotik, that’s just mean. Here he is trying to learn to cook and you’re going to give him the potentially stickiest dish with no further instructions?

Fried eggs are good. But you have to remember one thing. That pan, even the one that says nonstick? It lies. Eggs stick to anything if you don’t do it right. Luckily, it’s easy to do right.