Registering a baby of a Bigamist

Living overseas. Went to the Embassy but they started questioning me because my second wife has a passport with the same name as mine. Maybe I made a mistake by stating that I am married and tried to put my second wife off as not being married to me.

Would it be easier if I say nothing about the first wife and just pretend I am only married to the second?
Do Embassies have a way of knowing if I am married to two women?

I’m not a lawyer, but as far as I know, a US embassy in a foreign country where bigamy is legal has nothing to say about it if a US citizen resident in that country has contracted bigamous marriages in accordance with that country’s laws.

Where the US government will have something to say is if you try to bring either or both of your wives back to the US, or obtain any kind of recognition for them from the US government, while maintaining that you’re married to both of them. AFAIK the US government will not endorse or recognize bigamous marriage.

You should register the child’s birth with the US embassy, though, if you want the child recognized as holding US citizenship. If the child’s mother’s marital status as your wife is doubtful from the US point of view, you’ll have to jump through more hoops, but you should be able to register the birth and claim US citizenship even if the baby is technically illegitimate by US standards:

Just to get the facts straight: So you actually are married to two women? And you have a second wife who’s the mother of the baby and who you took along to the embassy to have the birth certified? And you told them you’re married, but not to that woman, which they noticed because your second wife has the same family name as you?