Replacing arthritic joints with metal ones?

I was thinking. Why can’t they just replace arthritic joints with metal ball socktes or hinges? Wouldn’t that relieve all of the pain associated with arthritis? I understand it would be an expensive and traumatic procedure, but for people who have joints that have almost fused together it seems like a viable option. It seems like joints would be very easy to create and implement. Couldn’t they just saw off the knobby ends of the bone and put metal ends there?

If this is something that is already very popular then forgive me for asking, I am talking more along the lines of someone getting all thier joints replaced.

Errrr, never heard of hip replacements?? Actually I’m doing a PhD in this area so…
Metal hips- you can have problems with allergies particularly if you use stainless steel which contains nickel.
The biggest problem is stress shielding. The metal is stronger than the surrounding bone. This makes the bone think it’s no longer needed and is reabsorbed into the body.
That answer your question Stinkpalm?

They do this with several joints. There was a wonderful/awful exhibit on this at the Boston Museum of Science a few years ago. It was very graphic, which you can either find fascinating or disgusting. They showed a knee replacement in all its glory.

The problems, as I understand it, are:

1.) It’s very difficult to construct a mechanical joint that will exactly duplicate the operation of an organic one. Most joints aren’t simple hinges or ball-and-socket.