Residual Income From Online Writing

I’m looking for a way to make some extra income. Writing online is intriguing because of its flexibility and I have some experience there. I’m a writer for Demand Media and am pleased with what it is. However, I’m paid by the piece and was wondering about revenue-share, affiliate or ad-generated income. Squidoo, Xomba, HubPages and many others out there make claims. Which ones are just hype and which are legit.

I am an intelligent, mature adult. I know anything capable of producing real income is going to take real effort, so I’m not asking for a free lunch. But, real effort put forth on some sites like this is wasted and will NOT produce any substantive income. My first priority is to weed out those turkeys and then look at the potential offered by the more reputable shops. Again, I’m looking for residual income, I’ve got a day job and an online writing gig in which I’m paid by the piece.

What say you teeming millions?:confused:

Actually, running your own blog probably has the best income potential for online writers, If you have something worthwhile to say and know how to market it. I’ve published several things on Associated Content. They’re legitimate, but don’t pay much. The key to making money there seems to be to have LOTS of material up and then promote it aggressively.
SS

+1 on the blog. It’s possible to earn money from affiliate revenue, but it probably won’t be much - you’re competing with a large number of people from places where the expected average income is low.

The writers I know of who have been successful online have done it by using their blogs and online presence to grow their reputation and fan base. The people I know who rely on affiliate revenue and the like are generally earning peanuts. (I do neither, so this is all second hand, and I’m sure there are exceptions).