responsible for spouses's debts?

If you marry someone, are you then responsible for their outstanding debts?
I have some.
If I marry, can they go after my spouse?

Generally, no. However, if a creditor gets a judgment against her, he can go after assets you hold jointly with her. (There are limits on this, and an easy way to avoid it in the case of real estate - you simply take title as tenants by the entireties, rather than as joint tenants.)

If she incurs additional debt after marriage, you could be held responsible under the Family Expense Act, if the debt arose out of the purchase of and item or service which benefitted the family as a whole. That wouldn’t apply to pre-marital debts, though

Random, thankie.
I, however, am the female.
I have an old debt of when I was evicted. I hold no assets or job for that matter.
So your saying, don’t sign up for anything jointly?

Somehow, my disclaimer got lost there.
Here goes:

I am an attorney, but not your attorney. Nothing in the above post is meant to constitute legal advice that you should rely on without consulting an attorney in your jurisdiction. My statements in the above post are based upon Illinois law.

That would be a good idea. How old is the debt? Was a judgment taken against you? (Debts are subject to statutes of limitation (time limits to sue), which vary from state to state. (Written contract S/L in Illinois is 10 years, oral contract 5 years.) Even judgments expire, but generally the time you have to wait is very long. (With renewals, 20 years in Illinois.)

Vanilla I hope you mind me tagging on here :slight_smile:

This is something that has also been on my mind lately.

If I were to file bankruptcy and then get married in six months, how would this affect my spouse’s credit? Would she be able to get credit based on her previous (good) record, or would they see a bankruptcy in “the family”? What if I earn all the income?

This is why if I did crossword puzzles, I wouldn’t do them in ink.