Revolvers, silencers and The Rockford Files

Last night the conversation got steered twards Seventies detective shows (doesn’t it always seem to?)like Colombo and Quincy and Rockford Files. Along with all the other 70’s detective show cliches (tight flared slacks, black turtleneck sweaters for villians, Ford mustangs, Lincoln Town Cars for the heavies, etc.) there were a lot of revolvers with silencers.

Granted, they worked great on T.V. (they all had that signiture “Thwip!” sound) but in the real word how well could a silencer really work on a revolver? Isn’t the idea to muffle the gas released? So, what about the gap between the revolving cylander thing and the barrel?

My last question (does the executioner get that second chance?) showed me that theres plenty of folks in this group that know an awful lot about guns (so I don’t wanna’ make any enemies, thanks).

Adam “Inky” “I think it’s time for Mr. Rockford to have an ‘accident’…” Greene

I’m not an expert on firearms by any means but I believe the whole point is to not have any of the propulsive gases escape other than down the barrel, behind the bullet. The seal between the cylinder and the barrel must be pretty good in order for a revolver to work at all. Any apparent openings must be in parts of the cylinder that aren’t actually in use while firing.

“non sunt multiplicanda entia praeter necessitatem”
– William of Ockham

There is no way to effectively silence a standard revolver. If the barrel-cylinder gap is tight enough to block gas from leaking, the cylinder won’t advance.

The exceptions are the old model 1895 Nagant gas seal revolver, which was standard Russian issue right up to 1950 or so. More recently, Knight’s Manufacturing company devised a revolver similar in principle, which is called the Revolver-Rifle or the Revolver-Pistol, depending on the version. These weapons cam the cylinder forward before the hammer strikes, which seals the gap and allows a suppressor to be effective.