Robotic Taxi drivers in Japan?

My mom was talking to a guy at a local store who told her he had just been in Japan and there they had robots driving all the taxis. He said that he was afraid to get into one at first, but he did and all went smoothly.

Now, I am not a expert on robotics, but I still believe that this is something that I would have heard about. (I develop software and much of my career has been spent developing software that talks to machines.)

However, I always remind myself that I don’t know every-damn-thing and so I am willing to ask. A quick google didn’t reveal anything except for the new pods at Heathrow.

Anyone know of anything like this?

Um, I have relatives in Japan and I think I’d have heard about this. I think he’s been watching too much Total Recall.

Abu Dhabi, perhaps: http://www.engadget.com/2009/02/04/masdar-citys-driverless-podcars-are-more-shuttle-than-johnny-ca/ (are these the same things as at Heathrow? I’m behind the times)

I don’t believe it.

To learn about some of the difficulties involved with driverless cars, read about the DARPA Grand Challenge. Car and Driver magazine also had a very good article about this sometime back.

Also, Wikipedia has an extensive article about driverless cars.

Judging by all these difficulties, even if there were a driverless car on a public road somewhere, I couldn’t imagine a taxi company wanting to get involved with the potential liability if there were an accident.

I’ve been to Tokyo a few times in the past year. The Taxi drivers I’ve had have been flesh and blood as far as I could tell. Maybe the guy knows something no one else does.

Like where to get the best ganja

This guy is full of it. Japanese taxi drivers are humans. It’s rather impressive for an American because they wear crisp uniforms with hats and white gloves, like a fancy chauffeur.