rubber spacetime

Using the rubber sheet gravity well model of gravity, is space a 3-dimensional sheet sinking into the fourth dimension of gravity, or a 4-dimensional (spacetime) sheet sinking into the fifth dimension of gravity? Or am I misinterpreting it altogether?

Chronos or Phobos might be better at answering this but I believe that it is three dimensions poking into the fourth.

So, our three dimensional earth is sitting in (on?) a 4-D spacetime that it warps by virtue of it mass.

I’m not an expert on this stuff, but I believe that the problem is that the rubber sheet analogy is a little flawed.

I DO know that it’s at least POSSIBLE to think of some spacetimes as, say, 4D objects embedded in 5D (or higher) surfaces, the same way that the surface of the rubber sheet is 2D object in our 3D world. However, I think there’s a distinction that has to be made (and correct me if I’m wrong).

The rubber sheet model actually has 3 physical spatial dimensions to work with. I believe that, at least in conventional GR (let’s ignore string theory), there isn’t a PHYSICAL 5th dimension that spacetime bends in; you can certainly write things as if there were an extra dimension (and sometimes it makes the math simpler to do it that way, I’ve heard), but the extra dimension is just a mathematical construct.

So I think the answer to your question is that if you mean what do people who work in relativity think is physically true, you’re just misinterpreting things. If you mean how do they mathematically interpret things, the answer is (I think) that it depends. If, for example, time doesn’t warp, then you could have three spatial dimensions bending into a 4th, plus time. If it does warp, you’d have a 4D spacetime ALL bending into a 5th dimension. But it’s just a mathematical device to make things easier.

Since there are only three spatial dimensions space cannot curve into some other dimension…… there is no other spatial dimension for it to curve into.