Running out of new music

Reading this thread in cafe brought a question to my mind.

First let me preface this question with I know nothing about music composition, so forgive me if this question sounds stupid.

Will there ever come a time when we will run out of possible combinations of musical notes? Where any new music will just be a copy of a previously written song.

Yes, the same way that some day we will run out of possible combinations of letters and all written material will be the same as something previously written. Want to do the math?

Won’t happen any time soon!!

Couldn’t language continue evolving? forming new words, spellings, and meanings.
On the otherhand a musical note is a specific frequency of sound.

The answer to your question is, in practice, no. Simple. In a highly theoretical, mathimatical type sense, yes - but I wouldn’t want to listen to the music of someone who thought this way.

I am not a musician, but I have often wondered this also. Of course Decca records rejected the beatles in 1962 because they thought guitar bands were passe.