Safety of medicine cocktails

Barring suspensions and all other odd medications, is it ok to mix clear liquid medications?

My son is now on a regime of 3 separate medications (cough, allergies, congestion) and it would save us all some heartache if I could just measure them all, put them together in the same spoon (the ones with the tube in the handle) and give him only one shot, instead of begging him to take the 3 separate shots.

Is this generally safe to do?

I am not a doctor, pharmacist or any other sort of medical practitioner but I have made inquiries of said practitioners about this very subject for forensic purposes. It is, I am given to understand, best practice NOT to mix medications even if they are clear.

At least one reason for this is that medications are all at potentially different pH levels (for technical reasons to do with the detail of the drug chemistry), and when mixed, the alteration of the total pH that results can cause drugs to precipitate out of solution, making them effectively worthless. I have seen a demonstration of exactly that effect happening with clear liquid drugs.

Even if the precipitation is not visible, there can be chemical changes that alter the chemistry of the drugs.

I can’t comment on the magnitude of the risk in any given case, but unless you know a great deal about pharmaceutical chemistry, it is inadvisable to mix drugs into one bolus dose.

What Noel Prosequi said. I nearly killed a patient (goat) by inadvertently creating a drug mixture in it’s IV line, causing part of the medication to precipitate.

I can understand this if the drugs are going to be standing for long periods or administered intravenously, but Sapo seems to be proposing mixing the medication and drinking it immediately. Given that it’s going to be dumped into a vat of pH ~2 within a few seconds anyway, is this change in pH really going to have any effect?