Sartorial Advice Sought.

Folks,

I come to you seeking help. I am a second year law student. I’ve been lucky enough to land a summer associate position at one of the New York firms. I’m very excited, as you might imagine, but this has also presented me with a few problems.

I had a few years out in the workforce between undergrad and law, but none of the jobs I had ever required me to wear anything less casual than a polo shirt and khakis. Now I find myself needing several suits and more “business casual” attire, and I know nothing–and really, I do mean nothing–about men’s fashion of that sort. I’m also on a budget–while I’ll be making decent money this summer, right now I’m making none at all. I suspect my credit card(s) will be taking the brunt of this effort, but I’d like to be as gentle to them as I can.

I want to look damn good–a lot rides on this coming summer, and I want my appearance to be as professional as my work product.

So, I come to you all, seeking advice. I’ve got several questions in my head, though they may just be starters.