School Curriculum Too Negative About America?

Report says schools are unfair to America

Agree or not? I’m no expert on the education system, and frankly have little idea of what is being taught in schools. But it does make sense, as it seems to reflect a general focus prevalent in certain elements of society on avoiding whitewashing the sins of America (while doing just that to other societies & cultures).

The fundamental question here is what is “balance”? I would suggest that as long as all facts are covered, the focus should be on that which will mold people’s attitudes in the most productive manner. I would agree that too much focus on the negative will breed an excess of cynicism, as well as encourage wrongdoing through an “everyone does it” attitude. But again, I am not familiar with the school curriculum.

Any thoughts?

I’ll give you an european perspective:
German kids learn plenty about German failings in history and as we all know there are more than enough. By no means does this result in people who are unappreciative of democracy or their country. Quite the opposite. Learning about history should allways mean learning something for the future to avoid the mistakes of the past.
Here is what I mean by an european perspective:
My feeling is that Americans are tought that they live in the greatest and most righteous country in the world. That’s why they belive they should be the worlds police (sorry, I don’t want to hijack this thread into world politics) and that’s why they are frequently perceived as arrogant.

Why do you think the question is balance? It should simply be:* What is the historcal truth?*

Well I was in high school about four years ago.