Scrapbooks: How to decide what goes in?

I recently decided to get my scrapbook in shape. I bought it years ago, full of I-want-to-document-my-history zeal, but I had barely bothered to fill up more than a handful of pages before this burst of activity. It’s coming along pretty well, particularly the section containing old press passes from when I was a sports journalist.

As I’ve been sifting through all of the loose old pictures that I have, naturally I come across people who were fairly significant in my life, but who I really don’t like very much anymore.

I’m not looking for a right or wrong answer, but I’m curious to hear how other people decide whether or not to include mementos of things they might not necessarily want to remember – an ex-girlfriend, a really lousy haircut, whatever. I mean irritations, not truly awful things, like if you had pictures of that time when your family was eaten by wolves; that would pretty obviously NOT go in.

Do you tend to err on the side of historical completeness or on the side of I-don’t-need-to-remember-THAT?

Funny you should post this, b/c I was just whining the other day about this very topic. I’ve gotten criminally behind in my photo album (it’s in scrapbook format but it’s 95% pictures with dates/notes in the margins) and now it’s gotten to the point that I don’t know how much to include for the sake of historical accuracy, vs. do-we-really-need-to-see-that-in-the-album. I’m studying photography as a career, so I take a boatload of pictures, too.

Like, for instance, my best friend’s wedding a year and a half ago; I was a bridesmaid and I took tons of really cool pictures, as did Mr. Levins.

She’s divorcing him next month…and I’m the one who talked her into leaving the jackass so there’s no love lost here.

So…what the hell?