Self aiming rifle that 'turns novices into experts'

Another gun thread? Bo-ring. But wait…this one is about a rifle with Linux, wi-fi and the same technology behind air-to-air missiles!

In Austin, TX (where else?), a company has developed an advanced rifle that reportedly turns complete beginners into expert marksmen (or markswomen);

More on the precise details behind a ‘Precision Guided Firearm’ (PGF);

It’s incredibly expensive, but the technology is there and will only get cheaper. What’s the debate, you ask? If the Feds should get involved and what you think about a world where anyone with the cash can have the skills of an experienced sniper - would any public place be truly secure if civilians can get hold of one of these bad boys? Or is accuracy, something strived for since Mr. Gun Powder first shot a ball out of a tube, nothing for concern? Tell us what you think.

Warning: Do not fire Amazin’ Laser at the President.

I see your 1,000 yards and raise you another 1,000: Sandia’s self-guided bullet prototype can hit target a mile away

Ok, what happens when you put a self-guided bullet in a self-aiming rifle?

“It’ll shoot the fleas off a dog’s back at three thousand yards, Tannen, and it’s pointed straight at your head!”

Did you ever watch that movie Runaway?

I watched that movie as a little kid and it gave me nighbmares.

It’s kind of messed-up that those nightmares are coming true.

Sounds like a solution in need of a problem.

The only practical thing I can see this being used for , is fixed base stations or roving remote tracked vehicles for farmers or ranchers. Step down the fire power from 308 to 7.62 and remote in and dispatch coyotes or what ever varmint is hassling the cattle.

Declan