Self-driving cars for bad drivers vs. self-driving cars for good drivers

IMO from everything I’ve read and the programming/computer experience I have, self-driving cars will generally be better than poor/impaired/inattentive drivers, but not better than good attentive drivers.

So self-driving cars will bring everyone’s skill to the level of a self-driving car’s programming and sensor quality. That would likely be better than bad drivers, worse than good drivers.

If I’m a good driver (granted most people think they are) who has never gotten into an accident, I would be rightly pissed if I was forced to ride in a self-driving car that then gets into an accident in a snowstorm or construction zone or whatnot, a situation I probably would not have crashed in.

And will a Mercedes self-driving car have better software and sensors and avoid accidents more capably than a Toyota Corolla?

It will be much better at weaving through traffic and tailgating.

:smiley:

I have wondered what a self-driving car would do if it encountered some of the things I’ve encountered. Example: Driving on I-70 in the rain. I’m in the far left lane, which is moving fast, as it should. Probably not as fast as if it were dry. A towed vehicle in the middle lane ahead loses a wheel. The wheel careens around, going from one lane to another, goes into my lane, bounces off the concrete thingie…I did not alter my speed. Slamming on the brakes at highway speed is rarely a good idea, and I also figured that I couldn’t outguess this random wheel’s movements and also figured (hoped) that by the time I got to where it was, it would be somewhere else. In other words I went straight for it without even slackening my speed, and that worked.

I don’t know what a self-driving car would have done. I’m thinking brakes?

No those are the BMWs! :smiley: