senior who will have a degree in IT...currently trying to get experience...feel like giving up

I will be graduating in May 2019 with a degree from LSU in Information Technology. I’ve been trying to apply to jobs to get some real technical experience but I have had no luck.

I’ve gotten interviews for IT help desk type jobs but no callbacks. I don’t understand how someone GAINS technical experience when it seems like no company wants to hire you because you have none.

I am currently studying for the A+ certification and should take the exam by December/January, which I mention in all the interviews I’ve been too, but I guess it doesn’t make a difference.

Most of the jobs I’ve applied to in Baton Rouge that are “entry level” all had the requirements of 2-5 years of experience, which I knew I didn’t have but I still applied anyway. I guess I can’t be too surprised that I wasn’t picked for a job or even called back for an interview. I just really feel like I majored in the wrong thing and I’m very discouraged at the moment.

Any advice it would be appreciated

Does your department/school/University have any sort of career counseling or placement services? If so, go see them. Have you talked with any of your IT professors? They often have connections and can help you.