Setting an auto-response to change email address: will this alert spammers?

That’s maybe not the best thread title, but I was having trouble coming up with something pithy enough to fit into the title box that was still descriptive of my issue. Anyway.

The email address I’ve been using for the last four years or so has become completely inundated with spam. SpamAssassin picks up a lot of it, and my custom spam filters pick up a lot more, but it’s getting to the point where if I don’t clear out my “spam” folder every few days, my mail quota (10 megs) fills up. I can’t take it anymore. Not to mention that the mail the filters don’t pick up is enough to overwhelm my inbox all by itself. As an example, this morning I logged into my account for the first time in, oh, 12 hours or so, and the filters picked up 126 pieces of spam, leaving about 35 more sitting in my inbox.

I just got a new email account through the company providing our DSL service. I’d like to start using it instead of the old one, but for obvious reasons I’m being very careful about who gets the address. I already sent individual emails to most of my friends and family alerting them of the change. But there are a lot of people out there that I don’t talk to often enough to warrant a special “change of address” email, but that might email me not knowing about the change. I’m thinking of putting an auto-responder on my email account to the effect of, “I don’t use this address anymore due to spam. The new address is blah@blah.com” or whatever. But will spammers pick up the new address out of the autoresponse email? What if I disguise it by saying “my address is blah at blah dot com” or something to that effect?

Maybe I should just jettison the whole thing and not do an autoresponse at all. Anyone have ideas?