Shall we use shall?

I’m an American English teacher in France. Quite frequently, my students use the word “shall” (i.e. shall we go to dinner now?) and I tell them it’s passe and that it’s been replaced by “should” for most speakers under the age of 70.

But maybe I’m wrong.

So, do you use shall in every day, non-joking speech? Does it matter where you live?

I’m 50-ish, grew up in California and have lived all over the country. I’m presently in the midwest. I almost never use “shall”, and when I do it’s in a formal context. I also almost never hear “shall”, and when I do, it’s also in a formal context.

I manage software developers & designers for a living. That means I deal a lot with formal logical thinking and carefully chosen nuance about mandatory versus desired versus typical versus undesired versus prohibited. “Shall” appears in written specifications some, but still has an archaic feel to it. We normally write or say “will” or “must” to mean a mandatory imperitive.

Having said that … AIUI “shall” is a standard term of art in building architecture / engineering to specifiy a particular piece of equipment or installation detail. e.g. “The electrical junction box shall be a Square-D model 123-xyz and shall be installed per NEC Section IV.6.4.”

But “shall” in casual conversation? Pretty much never, unless somebody’s being silly.

Use should.

I saw a comedian once do a bit on if James Brown had spoken grammatically correct English:

I feel well!
I knew that I shall!

I sometimes use shall, but am anyway a bit of an anomaly. I’d think it was cool coming from a non-native speaker, though. I suppose it has become archaic, but really only recently.

I use shall from time to time for emphasis, ala Gandalf and “you shall not pass.” But that’s more in writing than in speaking, and not in informal contexts. In speech, it seems fussy now.