Shellfish Allergy Questions

You may or may not be a doctor (as the case may be). You are not my doctor. This is not an emergency. I will seek advice from my own physician.

It turns out I’ve developed a strong shellfish allergy as an adult. I even had a reaction to cross-contamination in a restaurant. I have an epipen and have been advised to avoid all shellfish.

I have two questions for those of you who may know.

I’ve never liked eating shellfish anyway so I don’t miss it. But I do enjoy crabbing, cooking and backing/cleaning crab for gifts. I’m told I should stay away from crab steam because the protein gets into the air. But could I be safe crabbing? What about with gloves?

The second question is about sushi. I love fish sushi and vegetarian sushi. Is there any chance that a clean sushi restaurant could serve sushi that would be safe for me, or is there cross contamination everywhere?

Does anyone have any other advice for me? I am new to this.

Thanks.

There is a chance you’d be safe with the steam, with crabbing, with wearing gloves, with eating sushi.

But there’s a significant chance you won’t be safe doing that. Risks seem high, with low rewards to me.

I’d really recommend steering clear of handling crabs. That’s pretty high risk.

And I AM a physician who treated a guy who had a shrimp allergy who really really loved shrimp so he ate some, came to my office, and died there.

Of course, I didn’t let him stay dead.

:wink:

ETA: Work with a sushi chef, he might be able to provide you with some nice tuna sashimi carefully prepared well away from any shellfish. But carry your epi pen.

Thank you very much for your information/advice.

Wasn’t what I wanted to hear. But I guess it was what I expected to hear. And it was certainly what I needed to hear.

On the bright side, I guess I get to learn to make homemade sushi. :slight_smile: