Shofars

This is a question for our Jewish friends on the SDMB, or folks who are well versed in Judaica. (Did I say that right?)

I have gotten into the shofar. Literally. Despite being a gentile-christian type.

I have always been fascinated by them when I have listened to synagogue services which are broadcast in our area (one of the local radio stations regularly features a broadcast during holy days), and seeing them in pictures etc. I also am interested in the connection between them and the “trumpets” of the bible.

I have collected two shofars. One is a ram’s horn, a little curley thing. The other is a longer horn, more straight with a slight curve and twist. I have been able to authenticate through the sellers of both that they were made in Isreal.

I play them, and can produce some interesting sounds, but I was a professional trombone player at one time in my life, so the physical aspects aren’t a problem.

But are there any materials available on playing the shofar? Its history? Proper use? Care and upkeep? Is there a particularly prescribed way to play the shofar? (like a method book or something?)

Thanks in advance for any advice or information.

SoxFan59
“Its fiction, but all the facts are true!”

Wow, Sox, fascinatin’.

There are certainly prescribed notes for religious ceremonies and rituals.

I dunno if there’s a book or not, I’ll investigate and let you know. Stay tuned.

I think it’s called “Blowing the shofar.” (And yes, they sure do treat their help nice).

Well ,nick, you have pulled some that made even me shudder, and you may do worse yet,but that’s the worst shofar.

How to clean a shofar: http://www.ohr.org.il/ask/ask119.htm#Q1

the only time I’ve ever heard the shofar, was at high holy days services, and all they did was blow it really really loud.

They did not play a tune.

I guess this doesn’t help, much, though.