Shooting medium or large format film on view camera

I’d kinda like to try using a vintage view camera like a Graflex to shoot medium or large format film. The cameras and film can be had cheaply and I am just a huge lover of vintage-looking stuff, and few things look more coolly vintage than those old-fashioned bellows cameras.

Does anyone here have experience doing this? What are your tips? I assume you have to use an external light meter - do you know a good kind?

Can most photo shops develop and scan the film for me? How much does that cost? Just to get the scans, not necessarily to make prints.

Thanks.

I wanna bump this thread once…someone has to know.

I have no experience with large format film – the largest I ever used was 120 film (56x56 mm) on a twin-lens reflex camera. But one suggestion that I’d have is to use a digital camera as a light meter: find out what it exposure it uses for the scene, and adjust that for the ISO of the film that you are using. You probably already have a digital camera that you could use like that!

Yeah, I thought of that. But it might be cool just to use an old school light meter, just for the vintage factor to go along with the camera.

Problem with vintage light meters is that they take vintage batteries. There aren’t any great options for my [Gossen Luna Pro](http://www.camera-archive.com/Gossen-Luna-Pro s) for example. Even if you can find a battery that has the correct voltage, the voltage over time drops off more quickly than the old mercury cells, so you end up with inaccurate readings. There are voltage controlled adapters that modern batteries fit into, but they’re not cheap. I generally use my modern light meter instead, even though I prefer my older one.

I have a late 40’s 4x5 Graflex Crown Graphic that I love. If you’re thinking about jumping in, read the FAQs at graflex.org. Lots of good info there.