Should I flee China (SARS)

Well, this whole thing has me shaken up a bit, but I’m not really sure what to do. Here’s my situation:

I live in Shenzhen, China. This is a large city in Guangdong, China, bordering Hong Kong. I’m a teacher at a public high school. My job, by necessity, puts me in contact with large numbers of people.

Currently, about 60 people have died from SARS, out of about 1600. About twelve of those deaths are in Hong Kong, about 35 in China. That’s according to the Chinese government anyway, they don’t inspire a lot of trust when it comes to admitting the seriousness of their problems.

So what’s the problem? I live in a city of millions, where a few hundred have a disease that is fatal in only a small percentage of patients. My chances of anything bad seem pretty slim. But . . . :

My employers don’t seem to think there is a problem at all. The local (state-owned) newspapers here say the problem is “under control”. I find it hard to believe that the problem is rampant in HK, (downtown HK is about a 25 minute train trip away) yet inconsequential here. In HK, schools are closed, banks have closed, some factories have closed; here in Shenzhen, business as usual. Yet Guangdong has 3 times as many fatalities and worse medical resources than Hong Kong with which to deal with an outbreak.

I’m afraid if I wait a lot long longer, the disease may spiral out of control and I’d have problems getting into HK because of quarantines at the border. Already, anyone showing symptoms may be quarantined. If things get a lot worse, is it possible they might issue a general quarantine? That really worries me. I honestly don’t trust mainland China’s hospitals, I really don’t want to be sick there.

My contract is up in two months, so I was planning on leaving soon anyway. I’d feel bad about leaving, but I’m angry that my employers and the Education Bureau of the city are acting in a callous manner in order to avoid admitting there might be a problem.