Should Political Polling be Banned?

I wasn’t sure if this should go under “Elections”, but it seemed more of a debate subject that about a specific election.

I’m watching the Mayoral race here in Chicago, and it seems Rahm Emmanuel is running away with it. Seems like it is the key here.

I’m no political expert, but it seems to me that the so called will of the people would be better served if we had no idea who would win an election ahead of time. Sort of like we have no idea who will win the Oscar ahead of time.

After all, if a candidate someone doesn’t like is 20% ahead in the polls or whatever, doesn’t a lot of voter apathy set in? Wouldn’t people who would otherwise go out and vote for a candidate they prefer, feel like “what’s the use?” if their favorite is lagging significantly behind? Doesn’t this sort of make the polls decide the election instead of the voters?

What makes these polls so infallible anyway? It’s just a random sampling of a brace of surveys. Why should the results of 600 people decide ahead of time the choice of what should be millions of people on the day of election?

I’m trying to see a downside to banning political polling, but I can’t come up with anything. Can you?

I think that the main downside is that it would be extremely hard to enforce the ban. And that it would be a violation of the first amendment.

That’s like banning scales because they depress fat people.

Polling is simply a measurement of public opinion. If a poll shows 20% support, then there is ALREADY voter apathy for that candidate. It’s just a tool.

Polling can help voters make informed decisions about strategic voting. For example, if the latest poll has A 45%, B 45%, C 5% and undecided 5%, a supporter of candidate C can decide to switch their vote to the more preferred candidate between A and B. Why would you want to deny that voter the information needed to make such a decision?

Instant Runoff Voting would solve that problem.