Should Robert Bork have sat on the Supreme Court?

As a college student, I opposed Robert Bork being appointed to the Supreme Court. I’ll agree that some of the opposition’s tactics were too much, however. The Democratic Senate knew they had a weakened President Reagan after the 1986 elections.

Still, the Robert Bork that emerged after those confirmation hearings is far more extreme than the Bork who could have potentially sat as a justice on the Supreme Court.

Would Bork have been a horrible judge if his nomination had proceeded without controversy? Bork isn’t a Clarence Thomas.

I don’t think Bork would have been as bad as he was made out to be. I’m not sure that George H.W. Bush would have appointed Thomas if Bork had won.

I’m not sure I agree with what you have said. I think that Bork on the court would be exactly like Bork as he is now. And, from what I can tell, Bork and Thomas are ideologically similar.

And, remember, when Marshall retired, Bush was almost certainly looking for an African American to take his spot, but he certainly wasn’t going to appoint a liberal. Clarence Thomas was one of the few to fit the criteria.

I think that with Bork on the court, Planned Parenthood v. Casey goes 5-4 the other way and access to legal abortion is a patchwork of state laws today. That’s the most telling thing I could see, but there were many other decisions that would have “5-4” the other way with Bork.

Bork was clearly well qualified to sit on the court. My own sense is that presidents should be able to appoint whomever they want, unless that person does not possess a strong enough CV to make him or her competent in that position. I don’t think anticipating how someone might rule on any given issue is relevant.

Of course, that’s an old fashioned view these days, and I don’t claim it to be objectively true in any sense.