Should we really be trying to turn the economy around?

I hate starting threads. I’m not very good at it and I usually don’t know which forum to post them in. That being said, I think that this question most likely belongs here:
I live near the IL/Mo border and work in Mo. Most of the political ads I hear on the radio have a conservative bent to them. It seems that lately what I hear more than anything else is from politicians wanting to turn the country or economy around. Our economy has been growing, albeit poorly, for some time now. Am I to gather from this that these conservatives want our economy to be proportionately shrinking?

We’re not creating jobs fast enough to meet the demand. We typically need to create ~250k/month just to keep the unemployment rate from increasing. Typically, a recovery from recession is above average growth, but we’re below average.

Whether or not the folks you’re hearing in ads can actually change that is a different story. But no, they are not arguing for a return to recession. You knew that, right?

Yes, of course I knew that, but the fact remains that if we were to turn the economy around at this point, we would be worse off than we are now. I am not particularly pleased with my position in life in relation to about 2007. (making about 50% less than then) but I have gainful employment, unlike 2008- 2010. I would hate for the economy to return to the level it was two years ago, therefore I think turning it around would be the wrong decision.

You’re being way too literal. When you hear “turn the economy around”, think “improve the economy”, because that is what is meant.

Are you just getting a jab in on indelicate phrasing of the ad or do you think conservatives are really campaigning on returning to the economy of 2010 or 2009?

Political ads are theatre. It is no different than when Romney calls Obama an appeaser despite Libya being overthrown and Bin Laden dying on his watch.