Should we use one space or two after a period?

Please read this article from Slate first.

Then, respond to the poll.

I took a typing class the summer before I started high school. We were taught to put two spaces after the period at the end of the sentence (as well as after colons). This guy claims that that is a holdover from the '70s and has to do with typewriters using monospaced type and is completely unnecessary now and we should FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, STOP DOING IT ALREADY (sorry, he seems a little emotional about the topic).

So what do you say?

I learned 2 spaces. Some people say use 1 space now because the convention changed, but I learned 2 spaces and I will use 2 spaces until I die.

I’ll check back later to see if the poll’s been added.

Two spaces.

It’s a habit.

Deal with it.

Gah! Stupid tab button! Didn’t finish my post!

Sorry, folks. Just post your responses.

Apparently I am still learning to type. :rolleyes:

Two.

Two. It’s how I learned to type. It’s not a holdover from the 70s, incidentally; I learned to type in WYSIWIG word processors in the early 90s which still used monospace fonts.

I think I read that article. They basically insist that there’s a “right” and a “wrong” way, and then later on admit that there’s no such thing as a right and a wrong way when it comes to typography, just convention, and the overwhelming convention is two spaces (unless you’re a professional typesetter). Overall I found the slate piece pretty obnoxious.

I’m a two-spacer. That’s how I learned. I could un-learn, but I think 2 spaces looks better.

I personally think two is okay. I alternate between one and two depending on how careful I am or am not and how things “look”. To me a bit too much space is a lesser visual evil than not enough. I don’t like sentences looking like they are squashed together.

ISTR some ass here on the SDMB once saying they couldnt take me seriously because I put two spaces between sentences. Oh please.