Should you give up your right to sue? (Arbitration)

Some companies require applicants to sign an agreement that you will not sue them once employed. The last company I worked for introduced this as a new policy in 1997. Instead of going to court over matters like sexual harassment or workplace discrimination, they had set up some sort of arbitration process. The process was long and involved, but the company’s resoning was that court proceedings & lawsuits tend to be expensive & time consuming. The arbitration process is supposed to allow the plaintiff & defendant to locate some unbiased third party (like a retired judge, for example) and expeditiously come to an out of court verdict that would be legally binding on both parties.

Since I had been working there since 1990, there was some legal reason why they couldn’t force us to sign it, but all new applicants must sign before they will be considered for employment.

I understand that it is the company’s prerogative to require you to ride a unicycle (if they so choose) before being hired, and it is your prerogative to go somewhere else if you don’t like it. That is not my point here.

Would the “verdict” really be legally binding since it was not issued by a judge or jury? Can you appeal to a higher court if you don’t like the verdict? What do you think about giving up your right to sue, even if you get arbitration in return?

Generally speaking, yes.Circuit City Stores, Inc. v. Adams, No. 99-1379 (U.S. 2001).

Generally speaking, no.

As for the public policy of the issue, I’m ambivalent, so I’ll let everyone else work that out.

The answer to your question may vary from state to state. I can tell you that in Georgia, such arbitration clauses are enforceable. I suspect that the same is true in most states, if not all. I’m confident your employer’s attorneys have checked to be sure that it is enforceable in your state as well.