Simple electrical question

So simple but has throw-ed me! I’m no expert but do understand some electrical circuits. Many, many years ago I built our first color TV. It was a 25 inch Heathkit and we used it for 17 years.
This was part of a color tv course that I completed.

My question… is about a simple 2 wire (one wire is ground) normally closed push button switch. It is the seat kill switch on my riding lawn mower. When the operator is seated the switch is open and this allows the mower engine to run.

Decided to bypass the switch by unplugging the switch, this should work for then the circuit would be open. But no, the engine will not run without the switch and the switch is n.c.?

It makes far more sense (not to mention being electrically simpler) to have the switch be closed while the operator is seated, so that when he gets off (or falls off) the switch opens, interrupting the current to the ignition coil. Try jumping the two wires together, instead.

I think the switch in question is a spring-loaded plunger type switch (at least it is on my riding mower). When the operator is not sitting in the seat, the spring pushes the plunger up and opens the contact in the switch. If the operator is in the proper position for operation, his/her weight compresses the spring and closes the switch.

Bypassing this switch would defeat one of the safety features of your mower, and is not recommended.

SC

First, I didn’t design it. :wink:

No, as I said it is a n.c. switch. Closed, kills or grounds the circuit.
It will not run closed. (or the wires together)

Well, you said it won’t run open either, so you’re overlooking something. Are you positive the motor is working? Did it run immediately prior to you disconnecting the switch?

Great… you have described a normally closed switch. :slight_smile:

I didn’t ask for your recommendation… maybe you should reread my question and post a solution if you have one. :slight_smile:

I have checked it every way I can think of.